Başqa haberler
Info Center
  10th Yalta Annual Meeting: "Changing Ukraine in a Changing World: Factors of Success"



The 10th Yalta Annual Meeting entitled “Changing Ukraine in a Changing World: Factors of Success”, organized by the Yalta European Strategy (YES) in partnership with the Victor Pinchuk Foundation, will take place at the historic Livadia Palace in Yalta, Ukraine, from 19th to 22nd September, 2013. More than 250 leaders from politics, business, society and media representing 20 countries will discuss global challenges and their impact on Ukraine, Wider Europe and the world.

President of Ukraine Viktor Yanukovych and President of the Republic of Lithuania Dalia Grybauskaitė will officially open the 10th Yalta Annual Meeting on September 20th. They will present their visions on how to create synergies for Wider Europe. Chrystia Freeland, Fellow, Martin Prosperity Institute at the University of Toronto and former Editor of Consumer News, Thomson Reuters (2013), will moderate.

The 10th Yalta Annual Meeting will focus on factors of success that create strong, competitive, sustainable and fair countries and societies. Among the topics will be the global economy, energy security, threats and innovations transforming our lives, as well as successful leadership approaches. Special attention will be paid to the future of Wider Europe and Ukraine’s cooperation and integration perspectives.

Among the speakers will be Carl Bildt, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Sweden; Stefan Fule, EU Commissioner for Enlargement and European Neighbourhood Policy; Sergey Glazyev, Advisor to the President of the Russian Federation; Kairat Kelimbetov, Vice Prime Minister of Kazakhstan; Leonid Kuchma, President of Ukraine (1994 – 2005); Aleksander Kwasniewski, President of Poland (1995-2005) and Chairman of the Board of YES; Mario Monti, 54th Prime Minister of Italy (2011 – 2012); Ronald Noble, Secretary General Interpol; Gen. David H. Petraeus (US Army, Retired), Director, Central Intelligence Agency (2011 – 2012); Bill Richardson, 30th Governor of New Mexico, 9th United States Secretary of Energy (1998 – 2001); Gerhard Schröder, Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany (1998-2005);

Radoslaw Sikorski, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Poland; Javier Solana, EU High Representative for CFSR (1999-2009), member of the Board of YES; and Lamberto Zannier, Secretary General, Organization for Security and Co-Operation in Europe.

Speakers also include leading businessmen, economists and experts including: Andrei Kostin, President and Chairman of the Management Board, VTB Bank; Daphne Koller, Co-Founder, Co-CEO, Coursera; Pascal Lamy, former Director General, WTO (2005 – 2013); Nouriel Roubini, Professor, Stern School of Business, New York University; Niall Ferguson, Laurence A. Tisch Professor of History, Harvard University; Michio Kaku, physicist and futurist; Dominique Strauss-Kahn, former Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund (2007-2011); Martin Wolf, Chief Economics Commentator, The Financial Times; Robert Zoellick, former president of the World Bank (2007-2012); and others.

In addition to President Yanukovych, Ukraine will be represented by Prime Minister Mykola Azarov, Yuriy Boyko, Vice Prime Minister; and Leonid Kozhara, Minister for Foreign Affairs, among others.